Your address will show here +12 34 56 78
Our coast

Bega Valley Shire’s coastal zone comprises a diverse range of natural features, highly valued by our local communities. The following information provides a snapshot of interesting facts about our coastline:

  1. The Shire's coastline is 225km in length, around 1/8 of the NSW coastline

  2. 101 ocean beaches

  3. 29 estuaries

  4. 400km of estuarine foreshore

  5. 121 SEPP wetlands, with a combined area of 2,753 hectares

  6. 8 Endangered Ecological Communities occur within the coastal zone

  7. Shire’s coastline is the meeting of 2 marine Bio-regions. The Twofold Shelf and Batemans Shelf Bioregions meet just south of Tathra

  8. 5 of the Shire’s 6 major settlements occur within coastal zone (Bermagui, Tathra, Merimbula/Tura, Pambula/Pambula Beach, Eden)

  9. 50% of the Shire’s population lives within 1.5km of the coast or 1km of an estuary

Our 29 estuaries have vital ecological, recreational, social and environmental values. There is a unique diversity of estuary types represented within Bega Valley Shire; ranging from large riverine estuaries (Bega and Bermagui Rivers), large coastal lakes (Wallaga, Merimbula and Pambula lakes) and small ICOLL’s (Baragoot Lake, Middle Lake and Bournda Lagoon). Bega Valley Shire Council’s Estuary Program has been running for over 15 years. In that time Council has embarked on the development of formal estuary management plans for:

  • Merimbula & Back Lakes - completed

  • Wallaga Lake - completed

  • Lake Curalo - completed

  • Wonboyn Lake - completed

  • Bega River - completed

  • Pambula Lake - completed